We must be on our guard, therefore, against evil desires, for death lies close by the gate of pleasure. Hence the Scripture gives this command: “Go not after your concupiscences” (Eccles. 18:30).

So therefore, since the eyes of the Lord observe the good and the evil (Prov. 15:3) and the Lord is always looking down from heaven on the children of earth “to see if there be anyone who understands and seeks God” (Ps. 13[14]:2), and since our deeds are daily, day and night, reported to the Lord by the Angels assigned to us, we must constantly beware, brethren, as the Prophet says in the Psalm, lest at any time God see us falling into evil ways and becoming unprofitable (Ps. 13[14]:3); and lest, having spared us for the present because in His kindness He awaits our reformation, He say to us in the future, “These things you did, and I held My peace” (Ps. 49[50]:21).

Today’s reading reminded me of how much I neglect my guardian angel. There are times when I’ve paid him more attention than I do now (though never offering him much more than a few prayers during the day); other times when I’ve been miraculously taken out of harms way and become acutely aware that it was due to his intercession; when I’ve sinned, falling into one of my vices, I become aware of him as well.
I pray to the saints, I try to cultivate my relationship with them, but for some reason I neglect my guardian angel. Why is that? Is that because one so rarely hears speak of angels nowadays? Is it because I can relate to the saints? How can I cultivate my relationship with my guardian angel, and how can I foster it in my children?

angel-presents-monk-pachomius-cenobitic-monastic-charter.jpg!Blog

Leave a Reply

